N E E D

i got what i needed from you and i’m okay now that you’re gone.

i needed someone to fill the void of loneliness
to motivate me to push myself
to help me feel like i am capable of being craved
someone who i could have sex with and not just feel like a fuck
someone who, for the time it lasted, made me feel special.

i realize we always had a time limit.
i realize it was doomed from the beginning.
but i also realize that you’re exactly what i needed during that time in my life.

you showed me a lot of things about myself,
a lot of things about the nature of relationships.
my priorities, things that i can look past, and things that i cannot.

i will always thank you for being an extraordinary asshole.

Leave a Reply

